News.

October 15, 2008 at 12:10 pm 3 comments

We’re going to have a baby! I’m 4 weeks and 4 days. Due June 20, 2009.

We had our first prenatal Dr. appointment today. I don’t really know what the point was, except reassurance maybe. She said most people don’t even know they’re pregnant this early. How could they not? I feel pregnant already.

I wasn’t completely impressed with the medical system. I knew I wouldn’t be. We have been researching the pros and cons of going with a midwife at a birth center over a doctor and hospital. I want a natural birth. No IV’s, no intervention (assuming the pregnancy will be low risk). The Dr. said they don’t do that. You must have an IV in a hospital and she clearly stated that if you’re not progressing quickly enough in your labor that they will use intervention to get it going. After the dr. visit, I made an appointment for a consultation with the midwife.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This is my kind of planet Perfect October

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bekah  |  October 15, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    holy crap congrats!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Jane  |  October 16, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Congratulations! That’s awesome news!

    Reply
  • 3. mrsleahmaria  |  October 17, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I was starting to wonder about you! Congratulations! It’s an experience that’s for sure, and I haven’t even encountered a bit of it!

    I’m surprised they had you in that early, but I’m sure it was good to be reassured.

    I felt the same way and moved clinics based on my initial reaction to the first clinic. Good for you on exploring midwifery! Based on family history on both of our families I have a chance of being slightly elevated risk and it is not an option unfortunately.

    I’ll be praying for you as you make your way through first tri!

    Congrats again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



