New Ideas

August 13, 2008 at 8:10 am 2 comments

I’ve been working on my new idea board for our new living room. This one turned out much, much better than the previous one. I think this is for two reasons. 1. The other board was my first idea board ever.  2. I have developed my style a lot in the last few months and I am much better with putting things together now. So here it is:

So here is the overview of my idea board (inspired by This Young House) Since I haven’t numbered my images, we’ll go clockwise from the top left corner:

1. The lighter of the two color swatches is a sample of our wall color, Sherwin Williams Latte. It will be the main color throughout our house. The brown is representative of some of our existing furnishings and the color of our curtains.

2. This pillow cover will bring a bit of fresh and fun green into the room.

3. This is our current sofa and love seat. They are from Ashley Furniture Home store. We will be looking to replace them sometime in the future though, with something more neutral. What do you think?

4. White ceramic greyhound. Doesn’t necessarily have to be ceramic, or a greyhound for that matter. But it does have to be a large, white dog. I have no idea where I will find one so we are all keeping our eyes peeled.

5. This little Rattan chairfrom Ikea is a total bargain at only $34.99. This may not be the exact one we use though. My mother has one that is a very similar shape but it has an upholstered seat. If I like it then it will just be the cost of the fabric to recover the seat. If not, then we’ll go with the one here.

6. Two of these little square storage ottomans will serve as a coffee table and extra seating should the need arise.

7. Jute, sisal, or seagrass rug. We are thinking about going with a 9′ x 12′ rug by the foot one from World Market.

8. Expedit shelf unit in white from Ikea. Turned sideways behind the sofa, facing the foyer, like a console table, only with tons of storage options.

9. Last but not least are these snappy mirrored end tables from Target. These will flank each arm of our sofa and make our great room look totally divine.

What do you think about my great room idea board? If you have and tips, suggestions, or ideas, please let me know!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

fixed blogging from the city

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tyne White  |  August 13, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Hi, I like the idea board- very fun. I found you through Bryn’s site. Where in east tx are you?

    Reply
  • 2. Leah  |  August 14, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    I love your board! Definitely nms, but you put it together soo well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



